WA's Chief Scientist 


The Chief Scientist of Western Australia is an independent advisor to the State Government providing advice on topics that are important to the future of science in Western Australia.

Reporting directly to the Minister for Science, the Chief Scientist of Western Australia is supported by the Office of Science.

About our Chief Scientist

Peter OoS photo thumbProfessor Peter Klinken is a leading Western Australian medical research scientist, highly regarded for his work in advancing the understanding of genes involved in leukaemia, cancer and anaemia. His many research achievements include the discovery of a gene that supresses the growth of tumours.

After obtaining his PhD from The University of Western Australia, he undertook research at the US National Institutes of Health in Washington and the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne.

His previous roles have included Professor in Clinical Biochemistry at The University of Western Australia; Director of Research at the Royal Perth Hospital; and the Director of the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research (previously the Western Australian Institute for Medical Research).

Under his stewardship, the Perkins Institute attracted world-class national and international researchers to the State and made numerous acclaimed medical discoveries. He also spear-headed the development of two new state-of-the-art medical research facilities, Perkins North in Nedlands (QEII Medical Centre) and Perkins South in Murdoch (Fiona Stanley Hospital).

Professor Klinken brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the role of Chief Scientist. His input will support the Government in growing the State’s science industries to achieve future prosperity for Western Australians.


KINGS Park’s 750-year-old boab tree ‘Gija Jumulu’ has produced new roots and flowers in a triumph of plant genetics.boab


HOW we deal with climate change depends not only what happens in the atmosphere. A better understanding of changes taking place in oceans will be critical to grasp the impacts of global warming.

WESTERN Australia is blessed with an abundance of natural power produced by the sun, sea, wind and hot desert rocks.

WITH a rich history of stargazing dating back to the Dreamtime, WA astronomy is a shining light whose best minds and advanced technology have brought us words and images telecast from the Moon to stardust collected by deep space probes.

Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE CS_01

Chief Scientist of Western Australia 2006-2013

Professor Lyn Beazley was appointed Chief Scientist of Western Australia in 2006 and completed her term in December 2013.  Lyn was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia in January 2009.  She is a member of the new Technology and Industry Advisory Council (TIAC) to the Western Australian Government. In March 2011 she was inducted into the inaugural Western Australian Women’s Hall of Fame. Lyn was also inducted into the Science Hall of Fame at the 2013 WA Science Awards.

Lyn undertook her undergraduate studies at Oxford University and her doctorate at Edinburgh University, her research career has spanned 30 years.  She is Winthrop Professor in Zoology at the University of Western Australia, where she built up an internationally renowned research team that focused on recovery from brain damage. Her research also changed clinical practice in the treatment of infants at risk from pre-term delivery.

Lyn has served on numerous bodies advising State and Federal Governments, such as the NH&MRC Fellowships Committee (2006-2009) and Australian Research Council (ARC) Advisory Groups, for whom she continues to provide expert advice.  She is a member of the National Science Colloquium for the Australian Synchrotron and currently chairs the Scientific Advisory Panel for Western Australia’s Low Emissions Energy Development (LEED) Fund.

Some of the boards on which she is a member of are The Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority (BGPA), The Institute for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR), Scitech, the Primary Industry Centre for Science Education (PICSE) and Future Directions International (FDI). She became a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering in November 2009 and is a member of  ATSE’s Western Australian committee.

The office of the WA Chief Scientist is located at the Office of Science at Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Dumas House, West Perth. 


Page 5 of 5